I feel like M. Bison hearing Guile had been shot


Today, all goes to plan, I’m putting my ageing laptop in for a reformat. After five years of always having a joke about the awfulness of Vista close to hand, I’m getting it wiped and replaced by XP. (Yes yes I know Windows 8, but at present I can’t run any contemporary games anyway because my laptop is so far behind the technical curve it might as well be running on thermionic valves.)

And if I’m being honest, I think I’m going to miss it.

I mean, Vista was an awful piece of kit. The system event notification service went belly-up four years ago and I never got around to fixing it, instead hatching workarounds for the long boot times and complete inability to connect to other systems. The battery time was down to half an hour at minimum settings. Even the Documents folder was glitchy, leaving TMP files lying around unless the file was placed in a folder – I recycled virtually the entire Documents folder a while back, saved something else and it still happened.

And yet, somehow I can’t help but feel like I’m losing a worthy adversary.

This will probably fade as soon as I get it back from the shop tomorrow and can actually do stuff with it again, but what the hell.

– OSM out

Leave a comment

Filed under Randomness

Leave a Reply

